SpeakerTalk Forum Index SpeakerTalk
This forum has been set up to facilitate discussion of 1970s KEF speakers and drive units. The owner of the Forum has no connection with KEF Audio.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

KEF 105 question
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    SpeakerTalk Forum Index -> KEF Speakers from the 1970s
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jls17
Introductory Contributor

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:25 pm    Post subject: KEF 105 question Reply with quote

I'm new to all this but have just got hold of a pair of vintage KEF 105's which I haven't been able to listen to yet. I'm still looking for an amplifier which will do them justice. I had been thinking of a Quad 405/44 combination but have got the impression that they would benefit from having more current than the 405 can deliver. I'm now thinking along the lines of a Quad 606 Mk2 if I can find one but am feeling a bit confused after lots of conflicting information, some of it from people who may not know the characteristics of these speakers very well. I would really appreciate some advice from someone who knows and loves these speakers and I thought this forum looked like a good place to find such a person! Also a lot of people on here seem to have the expertise to carry out their own repairs/upgrades but I certainly won't be attempting that and was wondering if anyone has any advice on where to look if I do need to get the speakers checked over. Thanks
Jay_Plesset
Introductory Contributor

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:44 am    Post subject: More power is better Reply with quote

I was a dealer at the time the 105 was introduced, and remember bridging a pair of Carver amps for a test. Was wonderful! They never sounded "loud", just got big....
Thierry
Intermediate Contributor 75+